Your Cart

Free Shipping Orders $75+

Save 10% use coupon WILD10

The Stages of Love Unveiled

The Stages of Love: the Journey of Falling and Growing in Love

Love is a complex and multi-faceted emotion that can leave us feeling both ecstatic and confused. It’s no wonder that people often describe love as a rollercoaster ride, as it can be full of ups and downs. However, what many people don’t realize is that falling in love is not just an unpredictable and haphazard process, but rather a journey that can be broken down into different stages.

Just as there are different stages of grief, there are also stages of love that couples go through as they navigate their way towards a deep and meaningful connection with each other. These stages, identified by psychologists, are part of what is known as the “intimacy cycle.” While they don’t necessarily follow a linear progression and each couple may experience them in a slightly different way, they generally serve as a roadmap for understanding the journey of falling and growing in love.

The Intimacy Cycle

It’s not uncommon for people to be familiar with the five love languages, but less well-known are the stages of love. These stages can help us understand where we are in our relationships and what we can expect to experience as we move towards a more profound intimacy. By learning about these stages, we can gain insight into our own emotions and better understand the complexities of romantic love.

In this blog, we’ll explore the different stages of love in-depth, looking at what each stage entails and what we can expect to experience. We’ll also provide tips and advice for navigating each stage and building a stronger, more fulfilling relationship with our partner. So, whether you’re just starting out on your love journey or are already deep in the throes of passion, join us as we explore the stages of love and discover what lies ahead on the road to true intimacy.

Understanding the Stages of Love



OMG! They’re absolutely perfect! You have entered the infatuation stage, where even the way they eat their food is incredibly attractive to you. You eagerly anticipate seeing them again because you share so much in common. It is possible that you drive your friends and family crazy by talking about them all the time. Simply put, you are currently experiencing the “honeymoon” phase of a relationship, where the chemicals and hormones in your body are akin to the effects of cocaine (yes, it’s scientifically proven).

So, yeah, it is possible to be addicted to love. During this stage, you’ll check your email or text messages many times during the hour to see if you have any more messages from him or her. However, like most feel-good drugs, it can’t last.

Clearer Vision and a Reality Check

Reality will eventually rare its ugly face and depending on how clearly you see, and accept, the other person will determine the longevity of the relationship. It’s the day that you wake up and think to yourself, “Wow…he’s really insecure”  or  “I really dislike that little laugh she does”.  This stage can be either an early wake-up call, and you call it quits, or it can be a little unsettling but affords and paves the way for an appreciation for who this other person really is, not the fantasised version you’ve had in your head for a few months.

The Hamster Wheel

Couples sometimes refer to this stage as ‘burying’. During this stage, you both settle into each other’s daily routine and create a new routine that includes the both of you. Divvying up chores, work, and discussing the aches and pains of day-to-day living are typical activities during this stage. However, focusing solely on day-to-day living can kill intimacy and harm the relationship. It is crucial to make time to maintain intimacy between the two of you during this phase. Reminding each other of why you wanted to be close in the first place is key.


In this phase, you actually step back for a second or two and observe your significant other with some appreciation. You find yourself saying inwardly, “Wow..he is still so sexy to me”  or “I really love her so much”.  This is where you both have viewed each other with eyes wide open and now accept one another for who you both are, and not the fantasy version. You see them not only as your sexual mate, but as your life partner, someone that has your best interests, and your back.


The Promised Land

The “promised land” stage is characterised by feelings of being blessed, lucky, or truly happy. For the first time in your life, you feel content and fulfilled. Although things are not perfect, they are still wonderful. Surprisingly, sex actually gets better during this phase of intimacy because you accept each other fully, with all of your flaws and imperfections.

Experts suggest that this stage can resurface throughout a couple’s relationship, and it’s normal to bounce between all of the stages at some point. Therefore, don’t worry if you don’t always feel like you’re in the promised land stage, as it’s all part of the natural progression of a healthy relationship.

Navigating the Stages of Love with Openness and Acceptance

As you journey through the five stages of love, it’s important to remember that every relationship is unique and may progress through the stages differently. However, the key to a successful relationship lies in remaining open, accepting, and communicating with your partner. By sharing your desires, dreams, sexual fantasies, and love for one another, you can deepen your connection and build a strong foundation for a lasting relationship. 

Whether you’re in the early stages of a new relationship or have been together for years, don’t forget to keep the lines of communication open and continue to learn and grow together. With these tools, you can navigate the journey of falling and growing in love with confidence and joy.

Leave a Reply


For a limited time, save an extra 10% off your order,  when you use the coupon WILD10 at checkout.

Don’t miss out, Ends Soon!